deep seated joy…

My soul proclaims your greatness O God
and my spirit rejoices in you
you have looked with love on your servant here
and blessed me all my life through…
Great and mighty are you O Holy one
strong is your kindness evermore
How you favoured the weak and lowly one
humbling the proud of heart

the magnificat by Marty Haugen

I love this version of the Magnificat that comes in about 1/4 to 1/2 way through … and today I have been even more conscious of the joy that comes from following a great and awesome God. Friday morning a verse really leapt out at me at morning prayer and it is the following verse

Jeremiah 15:16 Your words were found, and I ate them, and your words became to me a joy and the delight of my heart; for I am called by your name, O LORD, God of hosts.

Taking verses out of context isn’t something I do every day, but these words really meant something today as they did on friday after Anina and I had prayed on the thursday, and linking in with the joy of my salvation I blogged about then.

I know the sun and warmth help but today has been an awesome day, starting with getting up and asking God to clothe me with his garment of praise, the belt of truth, the breastplate of righteousness, the shield of faith and the helmet of salvation. To give me His peace, love and joy as well as the inner strength and love I talked about yesterday.

There is a discipline in all of this and I was chatting with a friend about this today, and how if we aren’t doing it we are doing God and ourselves a disservice. I am called by His name to follow Him whatever and wherever that means and that is risky but I would rather be a risk taker than not.

Faith is about risk but so often once we are on the journey we stop taking risks – apart from those that are going to get us what we want – even if that is unhealthy for us in terms of our faith journey.
God has reminded me again of the need to keep focussed on Him and take risks that are in line with what He is saying and not simply what I want to do to make me feel good or needed or even happy.

About Dot

mum, daughter, sister, friend, curate, singer
This entry was posted in general musings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to deep seated joy…

  1. wondering aloud says:

    that photo………. :(

    • Dot says:

      I’m sorry : ( don’t you like the photo?

      for me it is an awesome photo, in a beautiful place and where I had the courage to actually walk across the bridge by myself!

Leave a Reply

